Montreál

Last weekend it was my turn to hop on the plane and fly over to Montreál. After 6 days there it has been proven that while Montreál indeed is very beautiful, it is far more cold than St. John's, for unknown reasons. 
 
Day 1/6: Arrival at Montreál at 7:30 local time! Jacob was being a sweetheart and picked my up by the airport, so I didn't even have a chance to get lost on my way to the city (thank you).

2/6: This day we were very active! We climbed Mont Royal (local little hill that provides grand view of the city - and full of squirrels!) and saw it's autumn glory, walked to the harbour and saw Old Port ("Gamla stan" för Montreál). Also lured Jacob to his first Starbucks visit ever, and tried on the Canadian cinema's when seeing Maze Runner. God, I NEED to get a hold of those books! (as usual, click on the pictures to enlarge them)
    
  
   
  
 
 
Day 3/6: Today we visited the Botanical Gardens/Jardin Botanique, which managed to be somewhat in bloom despite the season. The gardens are currently engaging in a light festival called "Jardins de Lumière", where they light up the chinese and Japanese gardens. Sadly, my camera wasn't good enought to capture the lights in the dark, but it was so pretty and they had made such a nice show out of it. Additionally, as it's so close to halloween, the greenhouse had a "painted-pumpkins and witch" section <3 On the way we also passed the Olympical stadium, which was very well kept.
 
  
   
 
 
  
 
Day 4/6: We went to the farmer's market at Jean-Talon to buy everything and anything you could possibly need in terms of fruit and vegetables - and you need plenty to make a Thanksgiving dinner! Naturally, we have to engage ourselves in Canadian traditions such as celebrating Thanksgiving (in October, unlike US that celebrates in November), and we do it hardcore!
 
   
  

Day 5/5: Study day! As I didn't mention, I had a midterm the 15th, the day after I got back to St. John's, and s we are responsible people the monday was dedicated to studying. You might think "WHAT YOU SHOULD STUDY WAY MORE THAN THAT! HOW COULD YOU THINK YOU'D HAVE TIME TO TAKE A TRIP WITH A MIDTERM SO CLOSE BY!". We got the results back and I landed on 91/100, so don't worry, I know what I'm doing! AND we cooked the Thanksgiving meal, of course. I managed to make cranberry sauce from scratch, something I've wanted to try out for ages, and with a combined effort we actually managed to do heaps of the suggested foods. Omnomnom!

Day 6/6: Today there was little time for anything but making my way to the airport after a sleeping-in morning. Bye Bye Montreál, nice to have seen you!
 
 
 


Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback

etzuko

Småstadstjejen som flyttade ut i den stora världen

RSS 2.0