Bath

Due to a high demand from family and friends most of these pictures are now already on facebook, but I decided to do a post about my trip to Bath anyway!

So, why Bath? Several reasons actually, the geeky one being Charlieissocoollike's birthplace, the less geeky one is the historical aspect due to which I wanted to see the places shown in the Jane Austen/ the dutchess movies and thirdly I wanted to see more of England. The sun was shining which made everything look really pretty, but it was really cold.There was many things to do, but unfortunately too little time to do it all so we had to cut some things out, but we still managed to see the vital things.

The group of four girls started with the Abbey and the Roman Bath....we thought. Instead we stumbled into a long queue and an ongoing wedding, so we decided to go there later instead. So we started with the famous Brigde, which is one of the two in the world which has stores upon them (no source to this fact though), one here and the other in Venice.


-The Bridge-

After escaping from some nasty pidgeons we went to the Jane Austen House. I had no clue Jane Austen ever worked or lived in Bath, much less that they had a house with facts of here there, where the employees wore old-fashioned dresses, sold books from the printed edition in the 1800 century or had a love café at Gay Street, but now I do!


   
- Costumes - Fan language - Colin Firth - Fika <3


-Tea time with Nien and Leonie, my "dutchessess". Ashley was kind enough to take the picture-


After some lovely cream tea a lá Mr Darcy and scones we went up to the Cresent, a house which for a long time have been on my "must see this building before I die"-list, due to it's role in many of my dear movies about the 1800. And I wasn't disapointed, it was stunning. On the way we passed the famous "Circus", a turnabout with beautiful houses along the edges. A very fancy, and expensive, part of Bath.


- The Royal Cresent-


-Wiiih!-

So, after all this we decided to tackle the Abbey and the Roman Bath again, and was more successful this time. Even if we had to stress through the Roman Bath to make it to the bus, it was worth it, and I can't help but always be impressed by the quality of the Roman's ideas and work. This was altogether a great day, Bath has been placed as top two in my favourite cities in the world and I'm so glad I finally saw the city of my beloved books in real life. I did however also got an little heart-attack when a friend stated:
"Ida, you're standing on a body."
After a shout and a jump back, I realized it was "art" for a calm demostration against the Soldiers in Afgahnistan, but how was I supposed to know? I was busy looking at the gorgeous Abbey, why bother looking down? (well, because there might be a body there apparently...)

  
-Inside the Abbey - Dead Body - Outside the Abbey
    
- The Roman Bath from above - R.B. with the Abbey - Phone booth - R.B


And this is the heap of things I got home with me. I feel like a true Jane-nerd and fangirl, which is absolutely true! ;)


-I'm a happy girl today-
[Also borrowed some of the pictures from Leonie, so it wouldn't be all the same]



Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback

etzuko

Småstadstjejen som flyttade ut i den stora världen

RSS 2.0